Enjoy Learning:
Embrace Challenge !

© South Darley C.E. Primary School 2018

Kevin Dean

Chair Of Governors

(elected by the governing body)

LA Governor

S&A Committee

F&P Committee

PM Committee

Term Expires:  25.1.20

ulla Quis Nibh

The governing body has a very important role in the running of our school. We currently have nine governors bringing to their position a variety of personal expertise.


The governing body has a range of duties and powers and a general responsibility for the conduct of the school with a view to promoting high standards of educational achievement. Its responsibilities include but are not limited to:

        setting targets for pupil achievement

        managing the school's finances

making sure the curriculum is balanced and broadly based

appointing staff

reviewing staff performance and pay.

The governing body has 6 full meetings a year which usually last between 2-3 hours.


The governors also have 3 sub-committees which meet 3 times a year.  These are:

Standards and Achievement

This committee has a responsibility to ensure the curriculum is meeting the needs of the children and that high academic standards are being maintained.  They develop the school improvement plan and ensure its implementation.

Premises, Health and Safety

This committee oversees the maintenance and development of the school building and looks at all areas connected with health and safety of pupils and staff.

Finance and Personnel

This committee has a duty to ensure the long term stability of the school from a financial point of view.  They will analyse the school budget and make recommendations about staffing and future budgeting to the full governing body.

Performance Management

This committee ensures that the headteacher and staff are fulfilling their performance requirements and makes recommendations to the Governing Board

Appeals and Complaints

This committee will only meet if there have been complaints about the schools actions or decisions and will consider these fairly, recommending actions to the Governing Board when necessary

Types of Governor

School governors are drawn from different parts of the community and can be parents and staff, or from the Local Authority, the community and other groups. This helps ensure the governing body has sufficient diversity of views and experience but does not mean governors of a particular category represent that group on the governing body. At our school we have:

Foundation governors

These are appointed by the school's founding body, which in our case is St Mary’s Church.

Parent governors

These are selected by election (or appointment if insufficient people stand for election) and drawn from parents and carers of children at the school. They do not represent parents and do not report back to them.

Staff governors

These are selected by election from teaching and support staff paid to work at the school.

Co-opted governors

These are appointed by the governing body as they have specific skills and abilities which will enhance the work of the governors.

Local Authority governors

These are appointed by the local authority, but are often proposed by the school governing body.

Governors Minutes

The minutes of the governing board are a public document and can be made available upon request.  Full records are kept in the school office.

For more information about school governance, please go to the Department for Education’s website.

Click here for the Governance Annual Statement Financial Year 2017-18

Click here for the Governance Annual Statement Financial Year 2016-17

Click here for the Governing Board’s Declaration of Interests, Attendance Rates at meetings, and Sub-committee membership 2016-17

Click here for the Governance Annual Statement Financial Year 2015-16

School Private Fund Audit Statement July 2016


Paul Wilde



Automatically part of governing body and part of all committees.

ulla Quis Nibh

Eleanor Wood

Co-opted Governor

S&A Committee

A&C Committee

SEN & Looked After Children Governor

Term Expires: 3.7.21

James Beeston

Parent Governor

PHS Committee

A&C Committee

Safeguarding Lead

Term Expires: 26.9.20

ulla Quis Nibh

Peter Siddall

Foundation Governor

PH&S Committee Chair

A&C Committee

Term Expires: 25.9.21

Rachel Maynard

Co-opted Governor

S&A Committee

Pupil Premium & Welfare Named Governor

Term Expires: 1.9.20

ulla Quis Nibh

Ricky Sanderson

Foundation Governor

A&C Committee Chair

F&P Committee Chair

PM committee

Sports Premium & Website Governor

Term Expires: 25.9.21

Allison Manning

Clerk to Governors

Please contact Allison in the school office for any further information about the Governing Board.

ulla Quis Nibh

Anne Jordan

Vice Chair

Parent Governor

S&A Committee Chair

PM Committee

F&P Committee

Literacy, Maths and Assessment Governor

Term Expires: 9.3.19

Kate Alcock

Resigned April 2017

Jennie Gill

Staff Governor

S&A Committee

PHS Committee

Term Expires: 1.9.20

ulla Quis Nibh

Other Useful Documents

School Improvement Plan Dec 2017 - Dec 2018

Long Term School Improvement Plan 2017 - 2020

Sports Premium Statement

Pupil Premium Strategy Statement & Report 2018/19